The Thinker's Digest - Holiday Edition

Your fortnightly dose of brain food

Dear Thinker,

In an earlier edition, I highlighted the importance of rest. It rejuvenates the mind and gives it much required time to imbibe and process all the information fed over the months. This often leads to the discovering of new connections and ideas.

Last week was my week of rest. Even though writing this newsletter is something I look forward to, it needed to be put on hold. Continuing to work in some capacity would take away from my intention of complete rest.

That being said, while reading through some articles, I came across one that is apt for this week as I look for activities to calm the mind. Enjoy!

Exploring the unknown is equally terrifying and exhilarating. I experienced this recently as my vacation involved exploring parts of ocean 18 meters below sea level. Space invokes this feeling even more as accessibility is restricted (unlike deep sea diving). To help us get a glimpse of this unknown, the article looks at some of the best submissions made by various photographers for the “Astronomy Photographer of the Year” competition. Get ready to be mesmerised by the beauty of the cosmos.

If you enjoyed this list, subscribe to Beyond the Horizon and get access to information that will increase your knowledge of the ideas that shape the world.

Here are some earlier posts to give you a sense of the topics covered in this newsletter -